FO: Sweater #10- Tenney Park

Yay, here it is! This is my 10th sweater of the year, my interpretation of Tenney Park. I am so pleased with how this sweater turned out. It is the closest I have come so far to designing a sweater for myself, and it actually went pretty smoothly.

I’ve talked quite a bit about the modifications I made to this sweater in my previous posts about it, so you can always check those out for some of my rationale and planning. In the end, I think this sweater landed closer to being inspired by the original pattern and then for the most part newly designed, rather than being modified from the existing pattern. Other than the yardage requirements and the instructions for the entrelac panel, I didn’t refer to the written pattern at all. I changed the direction of construction (bottom up vs top down), I changed the body shaping, and I changed the fit of the sleeves (set in sleeves in the round, loosely based on EZ’s directions from Knitting Workshop, but modified to more closely resemble pieced set in sleeves I’ve made before). That took some work to make them fit properly, but I’m glad that I chose to redo the yoke of the sweater, because now the fit is lovely.

Although it was very intimidating at first, once I got the hang of entrelac, it started zipping right along. I think that learning to knit backwards/in both directions is key to making it workable. If I had to turn my work every 8 stitches, I would have lost my mind much sooner, and probably ended up tied in knots. This was my first adventure with KnitPicks Chroma Fingering, and I really enjoyed it. It was hard to rip out when I made mistakes, but other than that, good to work with. The colour changes were much more gradual than I expected them to be, but I like the final result. I decided to put the end of the panel with more contrast closer to my face, to draw attention there rather than around my hips. The colour match with Wool of the Andes Sport in Ash is just right- not a perfect match, but right in the same family so it coordinates nicely.

This sweater has made me so confident that I want to try designing my own pattern for my last sweater of the year. I already have some visions in my head of what it will look like, and I’m very hopeful that I will be able to make them a reality. For more info on my Tenney Park jumper, check out my Ravelry project page or my past blog posts.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in ella knit that, jumper and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This one is just wonderful and fits you so well !!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

